Book Comparison: “To Kill a Mockingbird” vs. “To Kill a Mockingbird: A Graphic Novel”

I remember reading To Kill a Mockingbird in 8th grade and skimming it a couple years later for Sophomore English. I loved it as an eighth grader, but didn’t quite enjoy it as much as a sophomore. I still remember it as one of the better required readings in school. I found the story intriguing and insightful as Scout and Jem learn to walk a mile in someone else’s shoes.

It has been more than a few years since I read To Kill a Mockingbird, but I picked up the graphic novel version from the library. I wanted to compare the two versions of the book. (Union’s library has both the traditional novel and graphic novel version available for checkout).

What the Graphic Novel did Right: The graphic novel stayed true to the original plot line. The illustrator notes at the end of the book that “the text is, as far as has been possible, directly taken from the novel.” Changes were made only when it was necessary to fit the graphic novel style. The illustrations accurately depict the emotions of the characters. It is a short read.

What the Graphic Novel did Wrong: The illustrations match the plot and evoke emotions but also leave nothing for the imagination. Readers see another person’s view of the characters rather than their own.

My Thoughts: I prefer the novel because there was more detail to read. I could imagine life in Maycomb County without being influenced by anyone but Harper Lee. The graphic novel was a shorter read because of the illustrations and is helpful for understanding the whole story without reading Cliffnotes. It has been a while since I read the novel, so I can’t say that Fred Fordham (the illustrator) missed major plot points or even minor plot points. Based on my memory, I think Fordham did stick to the main plot and included the main points.

Content notes: This book does discuss rape and social justice. It includes the use of curse words. There is also some violence.

To Kill a Mockingbird: A Graphic Novel is located in the Family Room. To Kill a Mockingbird is located in the Main Campus Book Stacks.

Amber Wessies’ reviews reflect her personal opinions and not necessarily those of the library or university.

One thought on “Book Comparison: “To Kill a Mockingbird” vs. “To Kill a Mockingbird: A Graphic Novel””

Leave a comment